top of page

How can I trust God more so I can ask why less?


Why? Have you ever asked God this question? I know I have asked, or wondered why a few times lately. I started reading a book today that I picked up at the thrift store many months ago. It's titled "How to Stay Sane When Life Doesn't Make Sense" by J.O. and Juanita Purcell. I have only read a small portion of it, but so far I think it is going to be a good read for me.


I wanted to share a few things with you all. In the preface of the book there are a few paragraphs that I find really good.

"Why?" is not really a good question, because it doesn't solve anything. Instead of asking why, we should be wiser to ask how. How can I trust God more so I can ask why less? When I can't understand the "why's" of life, I can still know the "Who" of life. As Charles Spurgeon once said, "When you can't trace God's hand, trust His heart."
Trusting is often harder than obeying. With obeying, we have the boundaries of obedience explained to us, but trusting God has no explained boundaries - we are always dealing with the unknown. We don't know what trials we will have to endure, how long a trial will continue, or how frequently we must endure our trials. To trust God, we must come to the place where we can see our adverse circumstances through eyes of faith, not of sense.

We must TRUST God when life doesn't make sense.


I need to keep these words on my mind these days.


Job asked God why many times. We know the "why" from reading the scripture, but Job did not know the "why". God's response to Job however, was "Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?" as we read in Job 40:8


We need to remember these verses,

"As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the Lord is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him." Psalm 18:30

"The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord:..." Psalm 37:23a


Our Great God is in control. He knows everything about us. Our past, present and future. He allows us to go through things for His glory. The path he has for us is perfect, even if it does not look perfect to us. We must trust Him, don't demand a "why" from Him. It might be months or years before He reveals the "why" to whatever we may be going through. We may never know the "why". We just need to know the "Who" and remember, "As for God, his way is perfect..." 2 Samuel 22:31

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page