top of page
  • Kiy

Wherever I am, Be Content

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

Two women looked through prison bars.

One saw mud, the other saw stars.



I keep reminding myself the verse in Philippians that says, “in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” (Why is this so hard for me?) This whole shelter in place, social distancing thing is getting long. I need to see my people! I do not know how everyone mentally has been dealing with this whole ordeal. To be honest, I don’t even know how I am dealing with it. One day I am thinking, “They need to just let us get back to living”, then the next day one of my kids just mentions they don’t feel good and I’m disinfecting things to the point of blowing out the electricity. So who knows!?! I have been reading the book “Calm My Anxious Heart”. It’s definitely a good read in such a time as this. I thought I would share a few things I wrote in my journal this week as I’ve read. If your mind is all over the place, like mine gets from time to time, maybe it will help you. If you are handling all of this craziness pretty well, maybe you can use these verses to help someone who needs a little encouraging.


My prayer is ,”Lord Help Me To Always See Stars!”

Wherever the Lord puts me, I need to be content.

Philippians 4:6-7 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.


Don’t give in to worry.


Matthew 6:34 - Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Get rid of Negative Thoughts!


2 Corinthians 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;


Think on these things…

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.


Renew my mind daily.


Romans 12:2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

I renew my mind when I take negative thoughts captive and dwell on the positive.


*Choose to give my anxieties to God

*Choose to pray specifically

*Choose to be thankful

*Choose to dwell on the positive


Philippians 4:9  Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.


I must remember that God is in control of my life

in this out of control world!

Isaiah 45:7 - I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.

Isaiah 14:24 - The LORD of hosts hath sworn, saying, Surely as I have thought, so shall it come to pass; and as I have purposed, so shall it stand:

1 Timothy 6:15  Which in his times he shall shew, who is the blessed and only Potentate, the King of kings, and Lord of lords;


God created me. He knew me before I was formed in my mothers womb. He cares for me and He loves me!


Job 12:10 - In whose hand is the soul of every living thing, and the breath of all mankind.


Jeremiah 29:11 - For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

*Read Psalm 139 when you get a chance.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page