top of page
  • Kiy

Strength Training

He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength. Isaiah 40:29


Ever wonder how the Proverbs 31 women got her strength? This verse below lets us know, as a women, we CAN be STRONG.


Strength and honour are her clothing; and she shall rejoice in time to come. Proverbs 31:25


It sounds like she wore her strength. It was something seen. It was something she put on, added to her daily life, just as putting on clothes each morning. How can we put on strength as she did?

I have a confession to make. Sometimes in church I get distracted, like yesterday for instance. While the preacher (my hubs) read the passage in Acts that tells of the conversion of Paul a verse jumped out at me. I sat there rereading it and pondering on it. It got me excited about this new year once again. I am trying to focus on 'SERVING MORE' this year. But, I have this new ailment in my life that constantly holds me back. I keep thinking how am I going to be able to do all that I want to this year when I am struggling often with very stiff or numb hands, an achy body and extreme exhaustion. How can I serve others when I feel like I could go back to bed at 9am and sleep the rest of the day. On the days I don't feel I have the strength to take care of my family, where am I going to get the strength to think of others, and act on what I feel I need to do? The answer. One word. GOD!

On those days when I put the roll of paper towels in the fridge and the milk in the pantry, if I have trained properly, I will still conquer! I will still have the strength to do what is necessary, to SERVE!

Think about these verses found in 2 Corinthians 11:23-33;


Are they ministers of Christ? (I speak as a fool) I am more; in labours more abundant, in stripes above measure, in prisons more frequent, in deaths oft.

Of the Jews five times received I forty stripes save one.

Thrice was I beaten with rods, once was I stoned, thrice I suffered shipwreck, a night and a day I have been in the deep;

In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren;

In weariness and painfulness, in watchings often, in hunger and thirst, in fastings often, in cold and nakedness.

Beside those things that are without, that which cometh upon me daily, the care of all the churches.

Who is weak, and I am not weak? who is offended, and I burn not?

If I must needs glory, I will glory of the things which concern mine infirmities.

The God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which is blessed for evermore, knoweth that I lie not.

In Damascus the governor under Aretas the king kept the city of the Damascenes with a garrison, desirous to apprehend me:

And through a window in a basket was I let down by the wall, and escaped his hands.


What gave Paul the strength to keep going. Where did he get the drive to press on in Jesus' name? The answer is found in Acts chapter 9.


But the Lord said unto him, Go thy way: for he is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel: (If you are a born again Christian, you my friend are just as Paul, chosen for a purpose.)

For I will shew him how great things he must suffer for my name's sake. (And just as Paul, there will be some suffering along the way.)

And Ananias went his way, and entered into the house; and putting his hands on him said, Brother Saul, the Lord, even Jesus, that appeared unto thee in the way as thou camest, hath sent me, that thou mightest receive thy sight, and be filled with the Holy Ghost.

And immediately there fell from his eyes as it had been scales: and he received sight forthwith, and arose, and was baptized. (Notice Ananias called Saul 'brother' and then delivered a message to Saul from the Lord. He was obeying God and serving Paul.)

And when he had received meat, he was strengthened. Then was Saul certain days with the disciples which were at Damascus.

(Here is our key verse, HE WAS STRENGTHENED. How was he strengthened? When he received meat. No, not steak, ham or bacon. We're talking meat of the Word! Hebrews 5:11-14 speaks of this meat. Of whom we have many things to say, and hard to be uttered, seeing ye are dull of hearing. For when for the time ye ought to be teachers, ye have need that one teach you again which be the first principles of the oracles of God; and are become such as have need of milk, and not of strong meat. For every one that useth milk is unskilful in the word of righteousness: for he is a babe.  But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil. We see that Saul spent time with the disciples. They were discipling him.)

And straightway he preached Christ in the synagogues, that he is the Son of God.

But all that heard him were amazed, and said; Is not this he that destroyed them which called on this name in Jerusalem, and came hither for that intent, that he might bring them bound unto the chief priests? (He had to grow and learn, we see after he studied the Word and knew the Word he went straightway and preached.)

But Saul increased the more in strength, and confounded the Jews which dwelt at Damascus, proving that this is very Christ.

(Now we see his strength is increased. How do you suppose he got this strength? Philippians 4:13 tells us I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

Isaiah 40:29 says, He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.

His strength came from the Lord. We can have this same strength. We need to be in the Word, meditating on it, laying it on our heart (Deuteronomy 11:18). We need to be instant in prayer, daily praying without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17). Filling our mind and soul with music that uplifts and glorifies the Lord (Ephesians 5:19). We need to surround ourselves with Godly brothers and sisters in Christ who can edify and exhort us (Hebrews 10:24-25). Be open to hear their instruction and learn from the elder of the church (1 Peter 5:1-5)

So, how did Paul press on when he had so much tribulation in his life? He was constantly increasing his strength, through the Word, through prayer and through discipleship.)


We too can press on through our trials, but we must continually increase our strength as Paul did.

Seek the Lord and his strength, seek his face continually. 1 Chronicles 16:11

We are going to have trials, for this reason...

Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ's sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. 2 Corinthians 12:10

We CAN do what God has set before us!

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13

I hope you find these words encouraging! Remember, when you don't feel you can go on, get in the Word, pray and surround yourself with Godly people... and Press On!


~kiy


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page